The Thought Refuse

A Virtual Repository for the Mind

The Obama Spin Factor

with 3 comments

I can recall many, many months ago being told that the majority of college educated voters supported Obama.  It was waved in front of me like a badge of validation by an Obama supporter, seemingly trying to imply to me that not supporting Obama somehow relegated me to being viewed as a political dunce.  While I took offense to this, it caused me to give greater thought to the question of what was the primary reason behind Obama’s whirlwind rise to political fame?

The answer, unknown to me at the time and to my recollection not widely discussed in the press, appeared quite simple.  Obama is the kind of rare breed public speakers that captures the imagination and attention of the populace once every few decades.  Not unlike John F. Kennedy.  His uncanny mastery of the language combined with his fantastic skill at conveying a message that connects with the American people, puts him at a significant political advantage over any competitor.

This is a critical skill set for any politician.  Particularly for those that possess limited experience in the political arena seeking to crash the national stage.  FDR, JFK, and Ronald Reagan are all former presidents who secured their political strength through their astounding communication skills.  But is this really reason enough to rally behind a candidate?  It’s flimsy at best and most certainly a shallow basis for casting one’s vote.

Being a realist, I understand how the world operates.  Spoils and success go to those who are best suited to convincing others to join their cause.  This applies to every arena in life.  The smooth talking playboy gets the most sought after women.  The sly and ass kissing employee climbs the promotion ladder.  And so it was with anecdotal pleasure that I came across this article.

There’s a favorite quote of mine by George Bernard Shaw that reads:

The longer I live the more I see that I am never wrong about anything, and that all the pains I have so humbly taken to verify my notions have only wasted my time.

Obama struck me as a sort of used car salesman selling me exactly what needed to be to a voter base that desperately wanted to be sold something – anything other then the rusting and rotting 1985 Honda Accord they’ve been saddled with for the last eight years.  That was my initial impression of him when I asked myself what his primary appeal was those many months ago.

I’ve been bombarded by friends, family, and media to support Obama, but my hesitantcy fueled itself out of this singular concern.  I need more then just a long string of enamored speeched.  My vote has been and still is undecided.

I’m sure in the end my vote will mark beside Obama’s name, but in the meantime I’m going to relish in the knowledge that what I always knew was correct.  Obama’s appeal stems mainly from people’s weakness to be swayed by a salesman, and that for all the supposed “education” it requires to support Obama, it was actually just the savy sales pitch that sold the car.

Written by huxbux

September 23, 2008 at 12:06 am

Posted in Politics

Tagged with , , , ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks pacer.

    huxbux

    September 24, 2008 at 4:36 pm

  2. […] of “spin detectors” is not isolated to Spinspotter.  As I detailed in another post, technology has seeded a germinal trend towards trying to turn the spin debate into an empirical […]


Leave a Reply

